February's Musings

Love and the Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is our “fourth chakra” and is located at the sternum. This chakra is also known as the Anahata or Green Chakra.  The heart chakra is all about deep unconditional love for self and for others.  In order to have a well-balanced heart chakra, forgiveness and compassion are essential to balance the energy since this is the gateway to our chakras.  When the heart chakra is blocked then usually the lower chakras are blocked too. 

When you open your heart and feel the love for yourself then you are able to fully love another.  When you can first forgive yourself then you are able to forgive another.  When you feel the beauty and love in yourself this shines your light and you radiate love.  This will attract others to you and you see the beauty and love in them as well.

If you are not able to love or forgive yourself then you block yourself from receiving love and forgiveness from others.  This blocked energy can cause serious health conditions for your heart and lungs.  Many times this can also cause other health issues for your lower body since the energy is blocked at your heart chakra and this energy cannot move to your lower body.  You will notice that many of the blocked heart chakra signs are similar to the blocked energy of the Solar Plexus and Sacral Chakra. 

Signs of blocked or weak Heart Chakras are:

  1. Loneliness
  2. Lack of self Esteem
  3. Paranoia
  4. Mistrust
  5. Not able to forgive
  6. Selfishness
  7. Anxiety
  8.  Fear of letting go
  9. Heart problems

Signs of an over-active Heart Chakra are:

  1. Co-dependency
  2.  Lack of discretion
  3.  Control issues
  4. Overly trusting
  5. Reckless decision making
  6. Over promising and not able to keep those promises
  7. Breathing issues

You can say affirmations to bring that balanced energy of love and compassion into your heart for love of self and love for others.  A list of affirmations for you to say out loud is:

  1. I completely love and accept myself
  2. I am perfect just as I am
  3. I love who I am
  4. I have love for me and I have love for you
  5. My heart is open to love
  6.  Love is everywhere
  7. I honor myself, I respect myself, I love myself
  8.  I am a happy and loving person and every action I take today is for me and for others.

In order to have a healthy and balanced heart you may ask Holistic Therapists use various healing treatments on your body, for instance, Reiki.  Reiki is a non-touch type of energy healing and Crystal Therapy which is the placing of crystals on the body for energy healing and balancing.  

Pink and green crystals work very well on the heart chakra. You may also carry these crystals with you in a small pouch to continue your healing. These crystals are:

  1. Green crystals: green aventurine, emerald, malachite, moss agate, green fluorite, green jade, green calcite  and peridot
  2. Pink crystals:  Rose quartz, pink rhodochrosite, rhodonite, pink tourmaline, pink calcite

Eating green foods as in leafy greens or dark green vegetables and fruit are also good for a balanced and healthy heart.  Some of these foods are:

  1. Lettuce, spinach, kale and beet tops
  2. Green peppers, green beans, green squashes, green apples, kiwi, green melons, and green grapes

Maintaining a balanced and healthy heart is essential for your quality of life. Forgiveness, compassion and unconditional love are essential for love of self and for love of others.  Having happy and healthy loving relationships radiate the energy through you and around you and this attracts like-minded people towards you!